Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Building my first 2 way
Building my first 2 way
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th January 2019, 09:07 PM   #1
Etaoin314 is offline Etaoin314  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Building my first 2 way

Hi guys, I am relatively new to the hobby and everyone here has been such a great help. Anyway I have a couple of Dayton ps95 drivers sitting around that I would like to use as mid-tweets in a BR two way desktop speaker. It will be in a smallish bedroom/office on my computer desk about 6in from a wall and I hope to make it sound better than the Andrew Jones Pioneers SP-BS-22's I am using now.

My limitations
- Size: approximately 0.3 - 0.7 cu ft (some flexibility here),
- price (under $40 per driver ideally but also some flexibility if the value is
there)
- frequency-wise I would like to hit the low 50's if possible and lower is
better.
- Crossover design is the part I am least familiar/confident so I would like to keep it as simple as possible. I am thinking because of the ps95 acting as tweeter I may be able to get by with a first order (or 2nd order at most) lowpass on the woofer and let the ps95 run full range if possible (but I would love to hear your opinions if this is a bad idea).