In Pursuit of a 20-20k Dipole Loudspeaker

I thought I would kick off 2019 with this thread about dipole loudspeaker design and construction. Specifically, how to create a loudspeaker having a dipole radiation pattern across as wide a frequency range as possible, when it might make sense to abandon this goal in favor of some other criteria, and the justification for employing the "full range dipole" concept.

One area that has been neglected (in my opinion) is what is happening to the rear of the loudspeaker. In an open baffle or dipole speaker, there is sound emanating from the rear that ultimately reaches the listener via the room and this is just as important as what is coming out of the front of the loudspeaker. So when I talk about a "full range dipole" loudspeaker I mean to emphasize that the front and rear radiation pattern should be as similar as possible over all frequencies.

I have been working towards these goals for a few years now and have built and dismantled a few test systems to try out some different approaches. I hope to share what I have learned, why I prefer this type of loudspeaker, and when it might work well or not work well for audio reproduction. I hope that others will chime in with their own experiences in this area so that we can all learn from each other.

I thought I could put down some thoughts into a few posts, but ended up creating a pdf file to kick off the topic (see attached). I would love to read about what systems you might be developing along these same lines and get your feedback about my approach to such a system.

Attachments

• In Pursuit of the 20-20k dipole.pdf
    701.6 KB · Views: 1,764
Last edited:
You make it sound as if the old BR box is "correct" and the OB is the problem.*

It really depends on which aberrations you want to live with. Fans of OBs prefer their ambient natural sound any day, whatever the speculative textbook curves (based on speculative rooms with speculative drapery, etc) may say.