Why does output invert at 2300khz?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all, I'm playing around with active crossover in a set of Pioneer FS52's I had lying around. I'm trying to measure the raw driver output in the tower - passive crossover removed and amplifier power direct to driver. For both the woofers and the mid, seperately, I get a phase shift in the middle of the frequency sweep. I have a minidsp nanoavr as the dsp device, but all peq and xover is bypassed.

See the attached jpeg for the mid graph. Nicely linear-ish up to 2300khz or so, then changes 360 deg.

These are crossed over at 2000khz in the factory xover.

I'm a noob, so have little doubt there is a simple answer, I just don't see a reason for this shift,

Thanks for any help

slobmw

Attachments

• Mid-raw.jpg
    Mid-raw.jpg
    68.5 KB · Views: 256
Hi all, I'm playing around with active crossover in a set of Pioneer FS52's I had lying around. I'm trying to measure the raw driver output in the tower - passive crossover removed and amplifier power direct to driver. For both the woofers and the mid, seperately, I get a phase shift in the middle of the frequency sweep. I have a minidsp nanoavr as the dsp device, but all peq and xover is bypassed.

See the attached jpeg for the mid graph. Nicely linear-ish up to 2300khz or so, then changes 360 deg.

I'm a noob, so have little doubt there is a simple answer, I just don't see a reason for this shift,

Thanks for any help

slobmw

Phase wrapping, phase goes from 0 to 2pi and back again (360 degrees in a circle). Think of going round and round in a circle. SPL and Phase Graph

Last edited:
In traditional multi-way crossovers you often have to invert a driver so that the phase through the crossover region aligns ideally.

That is, you may have the W in + phase, then reverse the mid, then have the tweeter in the same phase as the woofer.