Placing autotransformer in crossover

Hey guys,
actually I'm building a two way speaker and I wanted to attenuate the tweeter using an old school autotransformer. first of all I located it after tweeter HPF but when I measured all taps frequency response I felt something is wrong. Autotransformer should not change the frequency response like this so I removed it and connected it before the HPF and the frequency response seems correct.
I want someone tip me off where is the right place to connect autotransformer in a XO network and if someone can explain the reason of this frequency response it would be great. (I suppose autotransformer after a LR2 filter would we a second inductor in parallel with the first inductor)

attachment.php

-------------------
attachment.php

Attachments

• 01.png
    01.png
    111 KB · Views: 3,842
  • 02.png
    02.png
    97.5 KB · Views: 3,017
Last edited:
I am no expert on transformers, but the crossover network (cap and coil) is designed around the assumption you have a very low input impedance and a fixed known output impedance. So if different setting on your autotransformer change the impedance seen by your crossover, it's response will change. That is why you see L-Pads used in crossovers, as an L-Pad is designed to provide a fixed impedance regardless of attenuation setting.

What @olsond3 said. With the autotrafo after the 2nd order filter you'll have varying damping as you change the taps. The resistive component of the tweeter's impedance is providing the damping and this is changing (as presented to the filter) with differing attenuations. Reducing the tweeter output is going to result in too little damping.

The best place to have your autotrafo is before the filter - its being then driven by a low impedance (your amp) and trafos give less distortion in such a circumstance. Its output impedance is going to be lower than the input (ignoring losses) hence more than good enough to drive the LC filter.

Oh, dear!