The Preference for Direct Radiators

Mitch asked a question in another thread which I think is the most interesting debate in audio right now:

In a nutshell, if two loudspeakers measure the same, why do people have a subjective preference for direct radiators?

Here's some background on this question, from my own perspective:

Seventeen years ago, I worked for one of those failing dot com companies. We didn't have any business, so I would show up to work and study patents all day long. It was a way to kill time and appear to be busy. Just sit at my desk staring at a technical doc for eight hours that looked like engineering work. That's when I started learning about horns, Tom Danley's stuff, Keele's stuff, etc.

I've built a ton of speakers over the years, nearly all with a horn or waveguide, but there's a consistent problem with nearly every one:

They can sound great with great recordings, but with bad recordings they sound mono.

Here's an example of what I mean:

IMG_0661.JPG

A few years back, I rented some Danley SH50s. They have a fairly flat frequency response and they're really well behaved in the phase domain.

vandersteen-3A_3.jpg

My reference speakers are Vandersteen. They have a fairly flat frequency response and they're really well behaved in the phase domain.

The Danley speakers cost about 20X as much as the Vandersteens. You can find the latter on Craigslist for $300, easily.

On an excellent recording, the SH50s were breathtaking. For instance, you can turn the lights off and put on a track with a really great soundstage, and the SH50 is one of those speakers where the image is almost holographic. Where the center is so solid it sounds like you have a center channel, and you can almost get a sense of "front to back" depth. The dynamics are far beyond anything you would ever need in a home.

The Vandersteen can't reach those highs, the stage is never as well defined and the dynamic limits are nowhere near as high.