Crossover design related to enclosure

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello to everyone, this is my first thread (second after the Introduction), I'm new to speakers design so i'm still adapting to new knowledges.
Well, the title says it all, I've looked over the web and this forum and I can't find something about this topic, at less not something that someone at my level could understand.

Most crossover designs i see are done with the graphic responses provided by the factory/vendor, if i'm not wrong these test are done in a something like a "infinite baffle" or free air... but as low as you go in frequencies, subwoofers, bass woofer or low mids the higher impact will have the enclosure design in the speaker response.

So... how? when? I've seen some softwares that allows to simulate the speakers response on a given enclosure, you simulate that response and then proced to design the corssover with a new dbspl? is there any other method? closed boxes are usually much simpler and predictable, the procedure will be same if it is ported, closed, reflex? Can you share what is your approach on this matter?

Enclosure simulation software can only predict the low frequency response where the driver acts as a near-perfect piston. This is where you put the electro-mechanical (T/S) parameters of a driver (as measured by the manufacturer and published in the datasheet) into a CAD program that predicts the low frequency response in a given enclosure.