Questions about transmission line speakers.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to speaker design and I just started learning some theory and trying to design a set of bass-reflex speakers. However, I stumbled upon some information about transmission lines and now I have some questions that I can't really find answers to online.
First and most important question I have: I don't really understand where ports end and transmission lines begin. I've prepared a drawing with ports of different lengths and shapes (in the attachment). Can you tell me at which point on my picture the port becomes a transmission line?
Second question: if I decide that my port is so long that it qualifies as a transmission line does this mean that I have to stuff it with damping material?
Final question: Why do all the transmission line designs that I see use a full-range driver? I really haven't seen many tweeters on those designs.
Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Ports.jpg
    Ports.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 1,134
I think I see where you are coming from but let's say (f) can still be a classic bass reflex.

But we also have to keep in mind that every port itself is also a transmission line. That is why in your favourite box software, the "1st port resonance" (or whatever else the wording might be) is prominently displayed when you configure your port dimensions.