Crossover advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I have custom speakers with morel mdt33 - tweeter and eton 5-880 25 Hex mid/bass.

Frequency Response:
mdt33: 1800 - 20000 Hz
5-880/25 Hex: 50-4000 Hz

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Lately I’m trying to build my own crossover, because I’m not satisfied with the current. I’ve never done something like that before, so I started learning by myself.
I’ve watched videos and read tutorials that explains how to do that.
So this is the result, I would be happy to hear what you think.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Did I make it right?

Attachments

• crossover.png
    crossover.png
    328.9 KB · Views: 176
  • IMG_2714.jpg
    IMG_2714.jpg
    304.3 KB · Views: 398
I see you are on moderator approval, so the first 5 posts take a while... :)

But welcome to the forum.

I think it's good to find a similar project and try and replicate it:
Vifa PL14WJ-

What you are doing so far is impedance correction and maybe online calculator values for L and C on the bass. That doesn't include bafflestep, so the speakers will sound bass light. Phase looks a bit strange. Usually a 5" has acoustic centre about 30mm back, a 1" tweeter about 15mm back. Simulators need to know this.

It can be done with some skill:
Seas ER18RNX with 27TDFC

A 5" bass is usually crossed above 3kHz, because its dispersion is good up to that point.

The masterpiece of 5" bass is the BBC LS3/5A. Many good ideas in that one. Fairly adaptable to a lot of 5" basses. the parallel LCR on the bass is a very useful notch around 1kHz.