First project (revised)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
I am new to diyAudio and would like to start building my first project. I have completed re-planning my speaker, but I would like someone to look it over. I know that I will make mistakes, and I am not afraid to scrap everything and restart.

I re-started from scratch from my first plan, here is the old thread:
First project

Thanks all :)

Edit: I know I need two L-Pads. Ignore that :eek:

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    324.1 KB · Views: 478
Last edited:
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
I think there is something you still don't understand about the lpads, and I'm sure no one is going to ignore it ;)

The resistor before the woofer may be changing the response, but it is not a good idea, and unnecessarily wastes power.

Have you factored in the baffle response? I assume you are using factory curves at this stage. The effect of the baffle will have a big impact on the low frequency drivers response curve :)

Tony.

I agree with both the above points.

Since you are using vituixcad, simulate the full space baffle response and use it as the frequency response for the woofer. you may find that you do not need that resistor in series to the Woofer.

If you are planning to use a series resistor on the woofer, it means the project has started out on the wrong foot.
Have a look at the sticky thread about designing xo's without measurement.

I think there is something you still don't understand about the lpads, and I'm sure no one is going to ignore it ;)

The resistor before the woofer may be changing the response, but it is not a good idea, and unnecessarily wastes power.

Have you factored in the baffle response? I assume you are using factory curves at this stage. The effect of the baffle will have a big impact on the low frequency drivers response curve :)

Tony.