Active MTM with 18W/8531G00 and some tweeter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
2.5 way 18W/8531G00 and D2608/913000 with Hypex FA123

Hello!

I plan on building a two-way speaker that is powered by the new Hypex FA 122/123 amplifiers. I have been listening to Zaph ZRTs for close to 10 years now, and I wish for the capability to listen at higher levels without the bass drivers reaching their limit at low frequencies. Also, I want to build something new and different, which is probably even more important.

The speakers are currently using these drivers:

18W/8531G00: http://www.scan-speak.dk/datasheet/pdf/18w-8531g00.pdf
D3004/660000: http://www.scan-speak.dk/datasheet/pdf/d3004-660000.pdf

one on each side.

I want to add another bass driver to each cabinet (total of around 70 L, tuned to 30 Hz-35 Hz or so) and also swap the tweeters, as one of them is giving me constant problems after I changed a broken diaphragm. Air now comes in from the back, so the bass driver influences the treble, when it moves.

Sadly, the availability of replacement parts is not great, as even diaphragms are hard to get now (Germany). So, I would like to sell the two D3004/660000 and get other tweeters. The idea is to use R2604/833000 ring radiators, even though these may seem like a step back in quality. Crossover frequency would be around 2 kHz:

Link to datasheet: http://www.ase-scanspeak.de/chassis/discovery/tweeter/R2604-833000.pdf

Now I have a deciding question, as to how good the concept is: Is the chosen crossover frequency too high for the 18W? Off-angle, they drop hard at 2 kHz. If I choose a lower crossover frequency (say, 1.7 kHz), the R2604 significantly degrades in distortion performance. I could also use the D2604, which has much better distortion characteristics, but I would like to try a ring radiator. Generally, the linearity of the X2604 looks nice to work with.