Open baffle without limits

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm an audio pro in the early stages of learning about open baffle designs and will soon be trying some experiments. I know that open baffle speakers present some unique opportunities and challenges but I wanted to ask a question.

In a world without limits what would a possible "perfect" open baffle system look like? I'm talking a world where space is not an issue, the room can acoustically treated to optimize the performance, any drivers are available, any baffle size etc etc.

I'm imagining a 3 or 4 way system with ATC mids, fully active, DSP crossover, as much amp power as is needed. There's also no limit to driver count… how about 4 x 15" drivers for the bottom few octaves? You get where I'm going with this.

Thanks!

Thanks Allen, I work in an extraordinary mastering room that uses large flush mounted ATCs. It's as close to perfect as one could ask for but I'm keen to explore the in room polar pattern effects of open baffle systems.

Linkwitz says we want the full audio range to be omnidirectional in an untreated room (MF and HF on rear as well as front). I'm curious what would happen with a large open baffle system in a room that has effective broadband treatment at each end with the baffle placed roughly halfway in the room ("nulls" facing the untreated or lightly treated side walls).

Yes, sorry, a clumsy paraphrasing of his words (it had been a while since I read it).

And yes I mean effective absorption right down into the LF. I suppose I'm wondering if one can get some of the "non box" sound of open baffle without the more reverberant or live characteristics of the typical dipole in living room setup.