Frequency response

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
As I'm fairly new to diy speaker building I'm not very good at reading the graphs yet.

I'm looking at the following graph, and to me this looks pretty good - fairly flat frequency response on and off axis is what I make out of it.

Is that correct?
What properties can you experienced people read from this graph? I'm eager to learn from you.

lS3MRn7.jpg

And what I'm wondering is - do these graphs show the "quality" of the speaker?
Can an educated diy'er tell from graphs like these whether it's a good (expensive? Non-diy?) speaker or a cheap one?

I've seen expensive speakers with graphs not very flat, and cheap(ish) speakers with fairly flat response.

What factors determine the real life sound quality in the end?

Last edited:
Sounds like you're reading it correctly -- provided you also know what angles the off-axis curves are measured at! (if those are 10degree steps, pretty good, but if they're 1degree.....)
These were measured at 0 / 15 / 30..
Therefore this graph seemed pretty good to me - I'd like to be able to diy something that could approach something like this I think?

Last edited:
There is nothing immediately wrong with either graph; when comparing the impedance with the frequency response, they don't seem to match up well. Looks like the box is tuned to ~35Hz and the bass starts rolling off at 100? Probably a bad splice and/or scaling job on the LF measurements.

Read about FLoyd Toole's research if you want to know what listeners prefer. Flat frequency response and smoothly narrowing directivity. IT also must be linear enough that it doesn't fall apart at high volumes.