Visaton W200S + TW70

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey guys I have been designing a speaker. I don´t want to call it La Scala clone, because it is not. But it is using same drivers.

Since I´m complete noob in speaker building, I wanted to show my simulations, and maybe you guys can help me out, if there is something completely wrong, or thumbs up, if it looks good.

I´m a bit worried about the phase graph. Not sure how good it looks.

Not sure IF I want to use the tw70. I would like to try Monacor ht-22. But I cant simulate it. IT has a very similar graph to ke25SC, and This also fits my simulation.

Project file in .zip. And a few pictures, who just want a quick look.

Thanks

Attachments

• W200S TW70.zip
    22.5 KB · Views: 81
  • W200S+TW70.1.jpg
    W200S+TW70.1.jpg
    433 KB · Views: 903
  • W200S+TW70.2.jpg
    W200S+TW70.2.jpg
    305.8 KB · Views: 871
  • W200S+TW70.3.png
    W200S+TW70.3.png
    33.6 KB · Views: 871
It is OK, phase is not ideal but not massively out. I dont recongnise the simulator you are using does it include a offset delay from the tweeter to the woofer. If not phase could be worse in real design.

If you add a resistor to the bass capacitor you might find you can adjust the filter to bring the phase in over a larger part of the crossover. Going third order on the tweeter by adding another cap might allow you to get a better response and suppress the resonant region of the tweeter further.

Yep. Seems it is down.

I could not make it better. It was a trade of ofor better phase hiher up tradeoff vs lover phase and frequency response.

But there is a different crossover that I tried, and the phase looks better, not sure if I like the frequency as much, but it looks okey.

Attachments

• W200S+TW70.3 Different.jpg
    W200S+TW70.3 Different.jpg
    514.2 KB · Views: 791
  • W200S+TW70.3 Different1.jpg
    W200S+TW70.3 Different1.jpg