Canton ct800 passive to active crossover solutions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been reading a bit about the benefits of going active and I'm looking into a more user friendly solution since I'm not that experienced.
First I want to experiment with my old Canton speakers and drive each driver with 1 amp removing the passive xover completely.
From what I understand there are more things the crossover will take care of besides splitting sound. Cabinet and driver related. The active xover should take care of those as well?
Room correction is something I really want since my room has a strong coloration and speaker/listening position is just a bit flexible.

I mostly listen to flacs using the pc as a source into a dac.

Is the minidsp DDRC-88A with dirac a good solution for what I need? At least for ~$1k

Am I on the right path or are there other (better) out there? Max budget being $1k but I wouldn't mind spending less.

Here are the speakers in question, and their crossovers:

For rooms up to: 55m²
Efficiency: 93.4 dB
Operating Power: 1.8 Watts (86dB, 3m distance)
Frequency response: 22 - 30,000 Hz
Beam angle: over 125 degrees at 12500 Hz
Transition ranges: 450 / 3,500 Hz
Impedance: 4 ohms

32690856885_03c17ebac8_o.jpg

32311780540_f3f4f5d72d_o.jpg

32690857035_7cbbc7513c_b.jpg

32690857115_86459bb37e_b.jpg

Any input is greatly apreciated.

Hi there! I just noticed this thread.

I really would suggest a better value / benefit would be to upgrade those capacitors, but if this is important for you as a learning experiment, try something less complicated.

I would suggest a hybrid approach rather than trying it all at once! :)

MiniDSP has combination 2-way plate amps like this one:

https://www.minidsp.com/products/plate-amplifiers/pwr-ice125