Help me design a mini-tower speaker...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I posted a while ago asking for input on building a mini tower employing a TMM double-chamber reflex configuration. The DCR idea was quickly pointed out to have no practical advantage, and to be honest I hadn't really thought out why I wanted the TMM configuration... So after some more consideration and research I've come up with another design. Hopefully some of you reading can help me iron out some of the details.

My goals are great sound, pleasing appearance, and low cost. I also want the project to be fun and challenging.

My knowledge of speaker design is basic, but I think I'm learning. My experience so far is re-capping my BeoVox S45.2s, building stands for them, and helping my son build a pair of Frugel-Horn Mk 3s (Fostex FF125wk). I'm a pretty skilled woodworker with a fairly well-equipped shop so construction shouldn't be a problem.

The basic layout for the speakers will be a small 2-way with a separate subwoofer in the same enclosure. Separate (external) amps will drive the 2-way and the sub.

The woofer for the 2-way will be the Silver Flute WRC1425-04. The tweeter will be the NHT soft dome I won in the BA2015 raffle, crossed over at 2.2kHz. I'll use the .35cf (9.91L) vented box recommended by Madisound for an F3 of 60Hz.