high pass filter for faital 4fe32

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,
I am total newbie to crossover and filter designs, so need some help. I have read lots of stuff about that recently, but for someone without basic knowledge of electronics its hard....trust me :).
So I am working on a portable box 2.1...two full range faital 4fe32 and 6" faital woofer. It plays wonderfully, but at high volumes there are some distortions...so I am thinking to make small faitals life easier and cut of the frequencies below 150 or 200hz (would that help? ).

So what do I need...capacitor, resistor of both?...and which one?

Thanks in advance,
Milos

Hi Hormilo !
I would like to help you with your Crossover. Your Thougts about "to make small fatials life easier and cut of the frequencies below 150 or 200 HZ" are ok and right.
Oherwise distortion at higher Volumes can have more reasons or other reasons than the low cut frequency. Most distortion is caused by Clipping of your used Amplifier.

We all need some more or more exact Information about the System what you like to build. for example : one box including 2 pieces oc 4fe32 and one 6" woofer or 2 encosures with oe 4fe32 and one 6"... what about amping? is an active crossover thinkable for you?

Please excuse that my english is not the best.

Regards

impedance at 200Hz is ~5 ohms, so plug that into this calculator:
Crossover Design Calculators
that shows a capacitor of approx 160uF is required for a first order xover,
(which is the easiest & cheapest thing to try)
the nearest preferred value is 150uF, that is close enough....

... but that's for a single driver, as Basslastig says, we need more info on how your system is connected up....

Last edited:
Thanks both of you for your help :).