Help needed: Vifa drivers in a 3-way speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello folks,
I am new in this game, so I would have to start from scratch :)

I can fairly cheaply get my hands on these drivers

Vifa PL18WO09-04
http://narbi.free.fr/manuels/HP - SUB/Vifa - Peerless V-line/PL18WO09-04.pdf

Vifa XT25TG30-04
http://www.parts-express.com/pedocs/specs/264-1016-vifa-xt25tg30-04-specifications-46530.pdf

That should be a good combo, the only problem is, I wanted to build a tall floor stander, possibly a slopped one with side firing woofers.

Could you please tell me if there is any chance that this mid-woofer could be used in such a scheme?
I could also, potentially, build a separate boxes for mid/tweeters and woofers if desirable.
Any info would be highly appreciated!

That is not the way to start. If you are new I suggest:
*Build a kit or well established design so you can follow along with measurements and design procedures. This hobby is all about measuring.

*A sealed system is a great way to start as they are a bit more tolerant to the box design.

*Your driver selection is a very good combo. Build the first ones as a small 2-way monitor. You can always tear it apart and build a bigger system later. (or set them on top of woofers like the Peerles XXLS)

*A three way is more than twice as hard as a two way. Don't set yourself up to fail.

Start slow. We all want to build the worlds greatest speaker in one shot. Guess what? After 35 years, I can build a darn good two-way and I see no end to what I can learn with them. Every build I set out something new to learn. Usually one electrical and one cabinet-making. I will be old and deaf before I master it. Most builds have two or three prototype cabinets before I build the nice one.