Best-ever T/S parameter spreadsheet.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new at this and just found your spreadsheet. Wow, it's been around a long time! I'd like to use it as part of my learning...

Two initial thoughts/question:

1) Will it matter if the signal generator I use has a 50 ohm output impedance? (it was designed for RF applications. ) Also, I'm a bit surprised that your example shows "Oscillator volts" equal to 16.575- seems pretty high, but I haven't tried it yet.

2) Where do I get F1 and F2, the plus and minus 3dB points from Fs?

Thanks!

I'm new at this and just found your spreadsheet.
1) Will it matter if the signal generator I use has a 50 ohm output impedance? (it was designed for RF applications. ) Also, I'm a bit surprised that your example shows "Oscillator volts" equal to 16.575- seems pretty high, but I haven't tried it yet.

2) Where do I get F1 and F2, the plus and minus 3dB points from Fs?

Thanks!
Just include the 50 ohms of your signal generator as part of the resistance in series with the speaker and put the total value in the spreadsheet.

The "oscillator volts" was actually the output from an amplifier, so probably higher than a normal oscillator.

For F1 and F2, once you find the maximum voltage across the voice coil at resonance, in this case 0.411 volts, write that voltage in cell B:10. The -3dB voltage then appears in cell B:16. Adjust the frequency above and below the resonant peak until the voice coil voltage drops to cell B:16 value. F1 is the below-resonance frequency for this voltage and F2 is the above-resonance frequency.

Also, with the speaker facing upwards, make sure you have the back of the magnet sitting on something heavy, for example a brick lengthwise. Don't block any vent hole though. If the speaker is not firmly supported this will affect the measured Q figures.

Hope this helps. Let us know how you go!

Last edited:
Thanks!