noob question about sensitivity

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I just found this site here, and am reading stuff like crazy -- I am new to tube amps and high efficiency audio -- I have come across the issue of speaker sensitivity -- and have found a pair of JBL speakers, the sensitivity in the specs show that they are 96db/1w/1m -- but they are 15" woofer and a horn. It also says recommended 250 watts minimum -- I am reading in places that the higher the sensitivity, the less power you need to drive them, and have found really expensive speakers that are 96 db sensitive but are made for 10 watt or less systems -- could these possibly be that good??? and would they work well for a 10 watt or less tube amp even though they say they need 250 watts? Would they be good for home speakers or just DJ/ PA systems? -- Can anyone please shed some light on these for me? I'm not sure about most of this stuff, I understand very little of all the terms and do not have an electronics degree or background (unless you're talking cars, done 30 years of that...) here are the specs:

Frequency Range (-10 dB) 38 Hz - 16 kHz
Frequency Response (±3 dB) 50 Hz - 12.5 kHz
Sensitivity (1w/1m) 98 dB SPL
Nominal Impedance 8 ohms
* Power Capacity 250 watts
* Peak Power Capacity 1000 watts
Recommended Amplifier Power 250 watts to 500 watts into 8 ohms
Maximum SPL 128 dB
Nominal Dispersion 90º x 50º
Crossover Frequency 1.6 kHz

* "Power Capacity" and "Peak Power Capacity" ratings are based on the average and peak power capacity of product samples subjected to a 100 hour power test using random noise with a 6 dB crest factor, in accordance with IEC standards.