Aperiodic enclosure for TAD 1603

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
In Dec 2005 GM wrote the following regarding aperiodic (AP) designs: "When used as originally intended, among other things it allows smaller/shorter vents in alignments that will benefit from it. F3/Qtb goes down and you wind with what is essentially a ~low Q sealed alignment above Fb with gain. Indeed, if a LspCad Pro sim is to be believed, then my 'critically damped' 20 ft^3/~16 Hz Fb EBS 'subs' have a slightly lower GD in the audible passband than an IB. For sure, they have much more gain down low where it counts and even corner loaded only elicits other's observations of 'life-like'/tight/etc. performance."

This seemed exactly what I was after so I started studying all I could find on AP, which unfortunately was not much. Recently I heard a pair of Shindo Latour speakers that claimed to be AP designs from Japan. They were very revealing and among the most natural and dynamic non-horn speakers I have ever heard.

I own a pair of TAD 1603s currently in BR enclosures designed by George Augspurger as recording studio monitors. They are very good, but lack the dynamics and scale I would like in my 16'x26'x10' listening space.

The TS figures for the TAD 1603s are as follows: Vas: 10.73 cu.ft.; Fs: 28 Hz; Qts: .342; Qms: 6.8; Qes: .36; Re: 6.6 ohm; Sd: 881 sq. cm; 85 gram cone wt.

I have come up with a box design with internal dimensions of 30"x20.5"x42.640625" equaling 15.17591689 cu.ft. volume. The ducts, 6 of them, would each be 2.5"x9"x 2" in length exiting the bottom of the box which would be standing on 2.5" legs. Tuning would be slightly less than Fs, or should it be calculated at .7072xFs and the ducts made longer?

I am interested in any and all reactions to this design and changes which you might think appropriate.

Joined 2008
Paid Member
TAD 1603's

Greetings,