Measurement method Check and X-over Check

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I picked up a couple of sony floor standers for $30. They are TWW. The tweeters were blown so replaced them. Looked at the xover (all 2 components of it) and had a listen they were pretty awful. I took a measurement and the woofers were playing up to 5Khz. Took everything apart and measured woofers etc separately. They shouldn't play up that high, they get ragged after 3khz, so decided to try model a new xover.

This is my first time trying to model a xover and wanted to get opinions/help on my methods.

Here Goes:

1) my listening distance is 3m. I took measurements with ARTA at 3m at on axis, 15' off axis and 30' off axis. Took the biggest gate i could get on all measurements, extracted minimum phase and saved them for modelling.

2)For the tweet/woof measurements i decided to do the woofers separately eg do the tweet with top woof, and then do the tweet with the bottom woof and save them as reference in LSP CAD to determine offsets correctly with the above measurements.

3) Import the tweet/top woof reference into LSP Cad, load the individual measurements into the xover section simulating setup (i had a cap on tweet to measure), and adjust z-axis on woof until my measurements lined up as good as possible with reference (determining offset, i think).

4) repeat above for the tweet/bottom woof.

5) model xover.

Questions:

Does it matter if the gated measurements are slightly different?
Do the measurements have to be taken from exactly the same impulse point? eg. find where the tweet impulse starts and then make where the woofers gated measurement starts from the tweeter?
Does my method for determining the offsets sound right?