rePhase, a loudspeaker phase linearization, EQ and FIR filtering tool

Hello guys,

I am a german student and I am currently working on a Multiroom speaker system, which should provide a room correction function. Therefore I need to know a few things about the functionality of rePhase, so it would be great, if some of you could answer me some questions about it.

First of all, I am curious about what happens to the target response, when I increase one particular frequency in rePhase by hand, because when I do so, not just the amplification of the one particular frequency increases, but several surrounding amplifications increases as well. So, first of all i guess this is the case, because rePhase just calculates the expected target response and rePhase expect the amplification of the surrounding frequencies to increase as well. Now, I wonder why this is the case so, why do the surrounding amplifications change?
And second of all, I wonder how rePhase calculates the expected changing of the surrounding amplifications. I would it expect to be a linear interpolation, but I am not sure. Also interesting to know would be how big the area around the increased amplification is, which rePhase also changes and how rePhase determines how big this area is.

Thanks in advance.

Hello loommidom

By "surrounding amplifications change" I presume you mean that when applying an EQ point to a given frequency you see a sort of bell curve around that point, so that surrounding frequency response is also affected.

This is how PEQ work: you set a frequency, a gain, and a Q (quality) factor that will dictate how sharp the correction is (ie how surrounding frequency points will be affected).
You don't want to have discontinuities in the response (and that is impossible in practice anyway), and using this copes well with how response anomalies (that we want to correct) also manifest themselves.