Replacement Tweeter for Castle Trent

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys, I've been lurking here for a while, trying to find the solution to my problem, but with no luck.

I own a pair of original Castle Trents, and while moving house, the tweeter on one of them seems to have been damaged. It is still outputting sound, but it's almost inaudible. I'm pretty sure it's not the fault of amp or wiring as this has been checked thoroughly. I've also checked inside the cabinet but the wiring inside seems undamaged.

My question is where would I find a replacement, or an alternative pair of tweeters that would fit these speakers? I know a couple of places (Wilmslow etc) but I'd rather repair them for less than the cost of a new pair :(

I can post photos, do some tests etc if you find you need any more info. I'm not an expert and the tweeter may not in fact be irreversibly damaged

Cheers for having a look :)

Hi guys, I've been lurking here for a while, trying to find the solution to my problem, but with no luck.

I can post photos, do some tests etc if you find you need any more info. I'm not an expert and the tweeter may not in fact be irreversibly damaged

Test both for continuity and resistance first using a (Digital Multi-Meter) Is continuity with defective tweeter intermittent? erratic? or stable?

Second, test resistance. What are the readings for both? Might provide a clue.
Had a few sets of Castles myself over the years and as I recall, some of the tweeters were ferro-cooled. They had a tendency to dry out eventually. I'm guessing the resistance on the defective tweeter is much higher than the known working one.

Of course the problem could also be in the x-over itself, pics of it, as well as the tweeters would be helpful.

Regards. Leon

You've gotta wonder if the ferrofluid oil had solidified, and you've only just noticed! :D