Introduction to designing crossovers without measurement

Hi Spinifex & Carlthess40,

Thanks for kind words, I really need to make one thing clear - I'm complete beginner when it comes about passive crossover design, I have never done it before this project. I did make couple of speakers trough the years but they were all someone else design.
This time I wanted to grab the Bull by the Horns and see where will I end up...:p

So far these little gems are just putting enormous smile on my face each time I listen to them or look at them... really special sound.

The final crossover I ended up is presented here, I need to say that I changed "correct" values in favour of nicer and warmer sounding speaker as oppose to the flat and lifeless first emulation.

What that means is that I probably do not have anymore perfect phase integration between tweeter and woofer but I really did not like sound of such "perfect" text book match.
What I ended up is Low-pass with classic bass hump to help bottom octave and slight BBC dip in the midrange to ease down and help longer listening sessions.

This is highly personal set-up so I'm not really bothered if is not up to the flat studio standard or if I could drive them with 100 Watts of power without compression etc...
I just wanted something that sounds human and warm but with high dose of musicality - I think I succeeded spot on!

The whole point is to make something valuable ( in musical terms ) for your personal preference, not for marketing reasons!

I really doubt if I could help you in designing crossover for you without running entire cycle as I did with this one and it took me 6 months of my lifetime.
My kind of specialty is building tube amps, not really speakers but I need to admit it is very addictive and satisfying hobby.

I hope that I have answered some questions...

Attachments

• Mini Monitor Crossover.png
    Mini Monitor Crossover.png
    70.2 KB · Views: 1,026
  • Mini Monitor Variable High-pass crossover.PNG