Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

choice of drivers - 15" + compression driver + waveguide
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th November 2010, 07:01 AM   #1
audiothings is offline audiothings  India
diyAudio Member

Default choice of drivers - 15" + compression driver + waveguide

I am planning to build a two way loudspeaker with the AE speakers Lambada series TD15H as woofer and a JBL 2426H with an Azurahorn AH-550 for the high frequencies. I aim to crossover @ 1KHz.

As I am very new to this, I seek your opinion on the driver selection... would something else be recommended at around the same price point?
Old 24th November 2010, 07:37 AM   #2
454Casull is offline 454Casull  Canada
diyAudio Member

Depends. Are you looking for a customized solution or you just don't want to buy a turnkey system?
Old 24th November 2010, 07:38 AM   #3
ScottG is offline ScottG  United States
diyAudio Member

At a 1 kHz crossover the JBL is rather costly. Also because it's titanium with a titanium surround, they tend to sound a bit more "bright" and a little "clearer".. which *can* make matching with a midrange a bit more difficult.

The rubber surround of the AE driver might have a trailing resonance lower in freq. (and higher in amplitude) than one of their drivesr with a pleated fabric surround.

For that kind of money I'd suggest the 18 Sound 1460A and either the AH-425 or the 18 Sound XT1464, while ALSO lowering the crossover point. (..Horn differences: they have different directivity patterns and the AH-425 can be used even lower in freq. or with a less steep filter. With the AH-425 you might want a super tweeter, with the XT1464 probably not.)