Whats Your Favourite Passive OB Bass Driver

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'd be very interested to hear what your favourite OB bass driver is for a passive setup. Wether used as singles or pairs or more. Also why you like them.

My favourites are Altec 416 8B, but thats because I'm very new at building speakers & it's the last one I used, oh and much bigger than the driver in my previous build.

Hi,

The Altec is probably a nice driver for a box but a dreadful choice for
a passive open baffle speaker due to its very low Qts of 0.23, and
TBH the Xmax is not that impressive either for the application.

Checkout MJK's articles on passive open baffle speakers :
Quarter Wavelength Loudspeaker Design

rgds, sreten.

The Eminence Alpha 15" is very popular.

Do not only look at the Q also Fs,Vas. The altec is very very good here simulation 2phi.
192322d1287182910-ob-project-design-started-help-requested-altec.jpg

Last edited:
Helmuth, all your Hornresp simulations how are they done ?

Hornresp is not very suited to do OB simulations since the programme suppose a centric placement on the baffle. You can do simus of the naked driver which is interesting. But to get things right with OB simulations you have to take the combined SPL response to account for the bass loss.

/Erling

Helmuth, all your Hornresp simulations how are they done ?

Hornresp is not very suited to do OB simulations since the programme suppose a centric placement on the baffle. You can do simus of the naked driver which is interesting. But to get things right with OB simulations you have to take the combined SPL response to account for the bass loss.

/Erling
Yes your right Erling, my simulations did not calculate combined response.

It doesn't really chance the indication about the woofer being suitable for OB.