Troels' PMS (multilayer assembly) build thread

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I am new to the DIYaudio-forum and would like to introduce myself with this thread.

After having built my first DIY-Loudspeakers with multiple layers of MDF (see thread on homecinema-fr.com in FRENCH ) I rapidly wanted to validate the assembly method with threaded rods on a bigger loudspeaker.

At this moment the loudspeakers are built up, run in (around 250 hours I guess) and waiting for their paint-job before getting a new home in my parents living-room.

They were actually a present for my father's birthday on September 8.

I decided on going with a pair of 3-way loudspeakers "inspirated" by the PMS-project from Troels Gravesen using SEAS Prestige speakers.

Have a look at his PMS-project here.

I want to thank Mr. Gravesen for putting his excellent work online, making it available to all of us.

I started designing the cabinets on my return from holidays on August 2 and it took me about 15 hours to complete (i.e. 3 "night shifts" beside my everyday daylight job), machining has been done on August 6 & 7.

The loudspeakers were put in service one month later, the day before his birthday, having taken care to start running in all the speakers on the first completed cabinet. Mono sound in the workshop...

As for the first set of speakers (see link above) the cabinets are designed of multiple layers of MDF (exclusively CNC-machined) and assembled with the help of threaded rods.

When realizing the SA2K-Clone I had noticed several points that could be optimized referring to both machining and assembly.

Modifications for the PMS concerned milling cutter types, assembly tolerances on the front-plates, anticipation of dilatation and some more.

The speakers used are CA22RNX, MCA15RLY and the well-known T27TFFC, the cross-over will be as per Mr. Gravesen's layout.