Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

Doesn't get much easier.
Doesn't get much easier.
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th November 2009, 03:02 AM   #1
pheonix358 is offline pheonix358  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Doesn't get much easier.

I am posting this series to show others that there are 'other' ways to build speakers, either a build that any one can do with only a jig saw, or other builds that allow those that have talents in fields other than woodwork to achieve a finish that is limited only by the imagination.

I have 30 years experience and am well known to Aussies, or at least my designs are. One of my designs in particular sold thousands and met with acclaim. I wish I could find that article from the Western Australian Audiophile Society, it was a real hoot. Perhaps another Aussie could post it.

This first one is simple! But first we need to step back and correct a misconception that some have.
There is a perception that the only way to properly design a speaker is to first choose your drivers and then design your enclosure based on a particular 'alignment'. Strictly speaking this is only one way to do it.

Take a Morel MW115S driver. This is IMHO a wonderful small driver. In a closed box the volume varies from a low 0.112L (Qtc 1.2) to a high of 1.2L (Qtc 0.5) Anything between these limits is valid.

The thing to consider is that a driver exists in a sealed enclosure on a continuum of volumes. Sure there are limits at either end but notice that the continuum is from 0.112 to 1.2 Litres, a facter of ten. This can be graphed in a 2 xy graph.