Audio Nirvana 6.5" and notch filters

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Audio Nirvana 6.5" and notch filters

Warning: I am a newb when it comes to speaker building. I just purchased a pair of Audio Nirvana super cast frames in 6.5" size. I did not use David's box plans as it seemed that the driver would have been underdamped. I designed my own box that was about 2/3's the size with a 3" port tube that is 6" long. I removed the tube to see what it would sound like if it were closer to his box design which confirmed my suspicions. Here is the rub, I have noticed that the response around 5-6K is very bright. Now in my simple way of thinking this would have nothing to do with my deviation from his box plans. I don't have an equalizer on my normal stereo so I have been using WinAMP. I have cut the 6K band by about 6db and the 3K about 3db and the 12K about 3db and that seems to 'tame the beast'. So I was contemplating a notch filter that would center around the 6K range but have also been reading about zobel filters that might help in impedance matching. But to be honest I am not sure what to do. Any suggestions? I thought the idea behind fullrange speakers was the simplicity (put em in a box and wire them up). I am discovering that it isn't quite that simple.

By the way the speakers do sound pretty awesome, very transparent, good imaging, just don't like the harshness that gets added as a result of the 'brightness'. Of course they don't compare with my Tannoy D900's but I am planning on selling those to fund several more speaker projects.

If this is the freq response, it's got a nasty peak, I'd try a notch filter: http://www.commonsenseaudio.com/an6.5superspecs.jpg

But the whole treble range is also elevated, which may sound 'very transparent' but will be tiring after a while.
A BSC filter should help with this.