Jean Michel on LeCleac'h horns

Folded Horn Design

Hi everyone!

I am new in horn design, I am more oriented to the room acoustics, and I have two question!

What is this horn type?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

How to design this folded horn, mathematically from star to end (eny reference book or paper)?

This is example of folded horn Carvin Vega subwoofer...

Thanks in advance!

I suggest designing as a straight horn first using Hornresp (you will find a thread on it here).
Once you have it designed as a straight horn you will have the cross sectional area versus length dimensions.
You can then figure out how to fold it efficiently into the target volume.
Try to keep the bends as smooth as possible (use curved pieces) especially at the beginning of the horn.

The Cerwin-Vega earthquake horn. EL-36C CERWIN VEGA FOLDED HORN SERIES SPEAKERS SUBWOOFERS

It is most probably a front loaded exponential horn.

Designing horns is great fun. I spend most of my free time doing it. Building horns are much more fun though. Decide on a budget. Find plans that fit your budget. Get the components and start building.

But first you need to decide if you want front or backloaded horns. This will certainly set you back a year or two. :)

I'm using a version of the spreadsheet that was shared some years ago in this thread. I noticed that the comression driver exit angle can be specified and it does influence the profile calculations, however it doesn't result in the throat of the horn matching the exit angle. It seems to match the CD exit angle requires iterating the T coefficient and perhaps Fc. How is the exit angle in the spreadsheet taken into account exactly?
Dan

It seems to match the CD exit angle requires iterating the T coefficient and perhaps Fc.