"Proac 2.5 clone" or "Elsinore project"

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2003
Paid Member
I have some valuable experience for members still looking at cloning the Proac Response 2.5 or anyone with the real 2.5.

I cloned the 2.5 years ago. My friend has a set of the commercial pair and they sound fundamentally the same.

I wanted something better and owned big name speakers that did'nt work out and then spent a few years researching,searching and travelling to hear many systems.

In my search I did find some guys were producing some nice speakers..

I then discovered Joe rasmussen's website at
http://www.customanalogue.com
On his site he offers "The Elsinore Loudspeaker Project"

Did my months of examining this project throught his webpage
and here at diyaudio.com
The thread is called "Elsinore Project" and you can read all about it here on this Forum

I'll make a long story short: I've been listening to The Elsinore for close to a month now and they do "EVERTHING" better than the Proac 2.5..
EVERTHING YOU MAY ASK
RESPONSE: "YES EVERYTHING"

It might sound insulting if I describe how much better they are..
If you want to know more please ask..

Joel

Thank you so much for making a comparison, we don't see that so often, though you'd think you would...

Also, would be happy for you to try to describe in more detail what you like about the sound of them.

So, one guy was not happy with the Peerless HDS Nomex woofers as mids and replaced them with Seas Nextel woofers, said he's much happier - I wonder if it's because he did not use Joe's design fully (I believe he used an active xover from the start).

He also did not like the HDS tweeter, tried several, then finally settled on the RS28F which he loves.

I've heard a lot of strong praise for the RS28F from people comparing it to other tweeters (including Scan Speaks).