A Beginners Guide to Enclosure Alterations

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

I’ve been lurking the posts on this forum for a while now. I am new to audio DIY and feel like it would be a fun and satisfying pursuit. I am keen to try one of the (many) well established designs available on the net:

http://www.zaphaudio.com/
http://www.troelsgravesen.dk/Diy_Loudspeaker_Projects.htm
http://www.humblehomemadehifi.com/
http://www.rjbaudio.com/projects.html

(currently, I have not settled on a design but don’t feel like I would have any trouble doing so - there is so much choice! Let’s pretend the I/the noobs have gotten this far)

I recognise that the only way to ensure success with these designs is to stick to the plans religiously. I have absolutely no intentions of changing the chosen drivers or the crossover design. However... (I can feel eyes roll as you guys anticipate a routine beginner's urge :tongue: ) ... how much creative input can a person put into their enclosure? To claim something as their own, I’m sure there are many beginners out there who want to put their own unique spin on an enclosure design.

There are little nuggets of information here and there that help out the novices but you have to read a lot to get there (often by coincidence) . It would help if there was a more densely packed post...

So I’ll try and get the ball rolling...

From my surfing, I think it is safe to say (?) you can achieve the intended acoustic results and do what you like with an enclosure IF your modified design:
- has a front baffle identical to the original design
- has an enclosure volume identical to the original design
- has port tuning identical to the original design, if applicable

all provided that the modified enclosure has an equivalent bracing/rigidity and internal padding to the original.