Simple Speaker build for dummies

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey there. I'm a speaker building newbie and need some help. My knowledge is very limited on the nitty-gritty specs and what makes a good cabinet.

I bought 2 15" cerwin Vega raw frame woofers about a year ago with intentions of building myself a pair of speakers. I e-mailed cerwin vega and they said they could not give me spec sizes for a cabinet.

they sent me a link to the cabinet in which houses the woofers i bought. I have a sheet of specs from the entire enclosure they e-mailed but its at work right now. (i can get that if it may help)

http://www.topdjgear.com/cevevi153sps.html

So here I am....I feel like this is really out of place with all the awesome and much more complicated stuff you are all discussing and building but I could uses some help, and by help someone to suggest and tell me step by step what to do.

I need to figure out cabinet volume, horn options, crossovers? and how to stuff or fill the inside to create sound.

I wouldn't say I'm on a "budget" but I'm not going to break the bank...nor am i going to go on the cheap and build myself a piece of crap.

I would like something that sounds ok but I'm not going to go nuts here. I have less than $200 invested thus far. I'm going to use 3/4" MDF, carpet the boxes and add the corner guards.

These will be used as a backup pair of mobile DJ speakers or for any backyard parties I have.

Can ayone help me?

In advance.....Thank you.

Cheers!
Jessehttp://http://www.topdjgear.com/cevevi153sps.html

Disabled Account
Joined 2007
madrugger10 said:

Can ayone help me?

Hi,
To build an enclosure you need the T/S specs for the driver, therefore it's good to buy one that has the numbers at hand. These specs can be measured, but it takes some equipment.