Grill Material for Stan White "Curled" Horn Reproduction

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Grill Material for Stan White "Curled" Horn Reproduction

Hello Everyone!

I am new to this forum but have been interested in DIY for awhile now. I have been a professional woodworker and cabinetmaker for about fifteen years and have recently finished producing two reproductions of a Stan White Opus I "curled, multi-flare" (his words, not mine) horn two way speaker. I used Morel drivers and a bathtub type Sprague 2.0uF military spec capacitor as a crossover (just like the original). I am no expert, buy the bass response is unlike anything I have heard.
I regularly shake the suspended ceiling with only 30 S/S and 15 tube watts per channel and it sounds and feels great and doesn't thump like some subwoofers I have heard.
I know that some of the claims that Stan White made over the years can be a little condescending and sort of "out there" but his patented modification to an exponential horn provided a separate chamber with a large "mouth" ahead of the woofer. He also used linoleum tiles in the original that removed any right angles in the folded part of the horn and smoothed transmission of the sound waves (probably why he called it "curled").