Ultimate Open Baffle Gallery

Another Baffle-less design

Not my first attempt at Open Baffle, but probably my last.

After my first experience with Bastanis and countless dissatifactions with mainstream boxed speakers, I knew OB was the way to go.
The speakers here represent the culmination of years of real world experimentation with the format.

Many designs were tried from information gleaned on this & other forums. I can express my opinion & say from my many baffle experiments, the smaller ....the better. And no baffle is best of all for lack of resonances, edge diffraction artifacts, imaging and simplicity!

I am no expert in electronics, so designing a crossover was out. I also wanted to lose the tweeter and see if it was really necessary.....so my efforts always concentrated on active WAW configurations....Alpair, PRV & lately Faital....all contenders for the wideband. I am aware that not having a baffle on the widebands would cause their bass output to roll off sooner.....but who cares? What I lost in bass I would gain by imaging, plus the crossover is easily controlled by my Behringer iNuke with built in DSP to compensate for the wideband loss.

Open baffle is not the most efficient way to produce bass we all know. Following advice to increase efficiency, different shaped baffles & frames were constructed. They do increase bass....but also increased modes and nulls in my room. Some of my U-frame configurations totally cancelled the bass in my sitting position, and my sofa had to be moved 2’ forward to give bass. Smaller baffles caused me less trouble with modes, but I could not achieve the SPL’s I was after.

By now my ‘baffles’ had turned into wooden ladder frames....simple and cheap to build! I was, happy, however, with my widebands and did not miss a tweeter....perhaps because I cant hear past 14k! At this point I was using the PRV 5MR450 Neos.