What speakers are good for tube amps??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi i'm new to this stuff and I need some help. I am getting ready to build a system, my first and I am going with a push pull 6v6 tube amp.

I already ordered 2 HH Scott 8" mids and 3 inch tweeters with crossovers and I still need woofers.

I'm looking at a couple of Utah 12 inch and a pair of KENWOOD KL-999X 16" WOOFERS.

Are either of these a good choice??

can anyone recommend brands to look for, not too expensive!

Thanks,
Rob Capone

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Rob,
Are you just buying different drivers and hoping to simply stick them together? That is no way to get anything good going on.

You might want to buy the speakers completed. What tube amps "like" to see is a relatively constant impedance. Most systems would have been corner loaded horns or large bass reflex types. The smaller systems used open back boxes. :rolleyes: You also want something that is efficient. You will have 10 ~ 12 wrms at your disposal, possibly a touch higher (we are talking about fractions of a dB here).

Some people like single full range speaker systems. His means that that one speaker is more expensive.

-Chris

Tube driven...

Hi Rob,
Are you commited to using these specific drivers for your project?
If so, you should have checked the SPL (Sound pressure level) rating and noted the frequency range of each for a degree of overlap.
"Tube speakers" should be SPL rated as high as is possible for high fidelity. Anything less than 98DBa might be a stretch for common tube amps.........However, volume is relative, do you like ear bleeding volume levels as in a full on Rock concert? Do you like cozy club jazz at moderate levels?
Check the specs of the drivers you have now & we all can go from there.
____________________________________Rick.........

HH Scott speakers