Allo Allo!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Good morning all!

As requested I am here to write a little introduction to myself. My name, in case you hadn't guessed is Ian. I live near Manchester in the UK, but lived as a youngster in Houston, Texas for eight years.

I am also a physicist, they seem to be ten a penny, and as someone amusingly said to make sure we stay honest we have electrical engineers watching over us… which is nice! :D

From what I can gather from my mother I was basically born with a screwdriver in my hands and she had to start teaching me to unplug things, because if it could be taken apart I would take it apart… it took many years before I learnt how to put things back together again! I started getting interested in audio reproduction around the age of 8 or 9 and I have been doing little experiments ever since, including building a pair of speakers as part of my school work, collecting hi-fi and I have engineered for a number of local bands over the last 7 years.

As for my aims, well I came here looking for an interesting speaker project having stumbled across a few ideas on the internet and now I am ready to stump up some cash to build a GainClone as well! So after years of lusting after an all Audiolab and Monitor Audio setup I am know going to see if I can better it with my bare hands!

For interest I have the CDM, DAX, S and SX with MA Silver 9i.

I have decided I would like to construct a pair of speakers using the ScanSpeak 8531 and 9500/9700 as a two way, a bit like “Newbie’s Latest Project”. I have downloaded all the software from the FRD consortium and I am now learning to use it.

So that is me in a nutshell!

Cheers,

Ian

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2002
Good morning Ian, and welcome to diyAudio. :)