I am now so very curious about building my own amplifiers.

And have a few questions.

Does it sound as good for much less cash compared to amplifiers one can buy a-la-carte such as Schite, because I'm definitely into the building part of this.

Also what's the difference really in buying off brand drivers for car audio / home audio that aren't a superior brand?

If what I suspect is true I will finally of found peace in the universe. For now. :)

I'm new to this too. I have a few Schiit components and they all sound great. Maximum bang for buck. I love the Bifrost 2, Lokius, and Freya S. I think the Lokius in particular is awesome if you just want to hear things that sound good to you and aren't hung up on measurements and "what the artist intended". I listen to a lot of poorly recorded rock and noisey electronic music, and if I ever hear something irritating, the Lokius can fix it immediately.

I wanted a great headphone amp, and I just can't stomach paying $1500-$3500 dollars on the amps that appeal to me. So, I built an ACP+. The stock naked kit sounds amazing and drives some 200ohn planars I have really well especially when it's using the Freya S as a volume control. Standalone, it rocks the 32Ohm to 50Ohm dynamic driver headphones I have.

I love the ACP+ so much I just bought a second kit and a bunch of premium replacement parts. Also built a custom enclosure for it. I don't anticipate the premium parts are going to improve things much, I think it's fantastic already. I had never built anything like the ACP+ before and I had so much fun I want to build another one and make it the absolute best I can with the money and time I have. It's a good place to start for anyone who wants to try building something. It sounds great and for most people it's probably the most useful and versatile kit in the store.