Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Hi from San Francisco bay area!
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th May 2020, 07:43 PM   #1
chrisjmartini is online now chrisjmartini  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Hi from San Francisco bay area!

Ex audiophile in my younger years (in taste, not budget) in the early 1990's. I was a musician/singer with a passion for all things high fidelity. Also an ex audiophile grade hifi salesman in my much younger years (circa 1988 - think Dahlquist DQM-9's, Carver & Crown).

Moving around quite a bit over my life I have more or less shed the large speakers and separate A/V components for smaller, more practical solutions, like wireless bluetooth headphones and small compact speakers. I sold my last proper hifi equipment back in 1998 (A Yamaha natural sound integrated amp A-1020 & some KEF 103/4 speakers KEF - Reference Series Model 103/4 (1992-95) - United States

I am now in a position where I find myself missing a proper home audio system and want to take up this hobby again.

This should be interesting, as I am currently in a 800 sq ft apartment with a small living room. I have a 60 inch 4k Samsung tv and currently just use the built in speakers, ugh. I live on a very busy, noisy street. Though I want some speakers that sound just as great at normal or low volume (neighbors) as they do at higher volumes. Yeah, so... Need to remedy the situation!

When I was younger I had a keen interest in speaker building and did have some projects back in the late 70's and 80's. I want to either build a new set of speakers (larger bookshelf sized on stands) by doing one of the following: