Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Introductions Welcome to the DIYaudio Community. Introduce yourself here so we can get to know you better!

Total Noob - And I Am a Believer
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th February 2019, 07:01 PM   #1
Martin L is offline Martin L
diyAudio Member

Default Total Noob - And I Am a Believer

Hi Everybody!

So... when i say total noob I mean I knocked togwther one kit with my dad when I was in high school

I have a background in DJ and also live setup and guitar work, recording and mixinf and I own a VERY modest reference system to at least be able to enjoy accurate playback in one room.

I am interested in building for many reasons, not least that I also want to become better at woodworking (its been 20 years since I built even a cupboard) and second, I visit little DIY meetings twice a year and I have consistently found impressive results from many builders, and am confident I can also achieve such great results with some guidance and a lot of practice.

For now I actually just want to figure out what tools I want to invest in, and choose a simple proven design to start with. I am really thinking a full range system will be a good start, gives me some more time to digest info on crossovers which seems a tricky bit. I am very taken with the idea of building super efficient speakers that dont need much power, that means I light consider learning to build some tube amps someday and be able to use them well. Now wouldnt that be a treat 👌

I am in no rush with any steps to take, I would prefer to be proud of what I did over having done it quickly.

Looking forward to meeting the community and learning from you all!
Old 6th February 2019, 07:05 PM   #2