Total Noob - And I Am a Believer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Everybody!

So... when i say total noob I mean I knocked togwther one kit with my dad when I was in high school :eek:

I have a background in DJ and also live setup and guitar work, recording and mixinf and I own a VERY modest reference system to at least be able to enjoy accurate playback in one room.

I am interested in building for many reasons, not least that I also want to become better at woodworking (its been 20 years since I built even a cupboard) and second, I visit little DIY meetings twice a year and I have consistently found impressive results from many builders, and am confident I can also achieve such great results with some guidance and a lot of practice.

For now I actually just want to figure out what tools I want to invest in, and choose a simple proven design to start with. I am really thinking a full range system will be a good start, gives me some more time to digest info on crossovers which seems a tricky bit. I am very taken with the idea of building super efficient speakers that dont need much power, that means I light consider learning to build some tube amps someday and be able to use them well. Now wouldnt that be a treat 👌

I am in no rush with any steps to take, I would prefer to be proud of what I did over having done it quickly.

Looking forward to meeting the community and learning from you all!

Welcome, Martin.
I would suggest, at a bare minimum, you get a circular saw, a jigsaw, and a drill (or two). From there, a router (and circle-jig), a sander, and a table saw are great tools to get. I also have a bandsaw, drill press, circular saw guide, belt sander, biscuit jointer, planer, and a lot of jigs and small hand tools. A nice assortment of screws is great as well as clamps (and more clamps, and more clamps...), and decent wood glue are other items you'll need.