Introduction...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'm new here but have been lurking here on and off for the past year or so. I was finally motivated to join mostly to follow what's going on in the high-efficiency/single driver/SET world from the DIY perspective -- mostly thanks to Dave at Planet 10.

I also happen to be the facilitator of the single driver circle over at AC, which is also part of my reason to keep up with what the DIY'ers in this area are doing (which is probably a high percentage of the folks who are into the whole SET/single driver thing.

I am an EE and computer scientist by training, but haven't been near a lab bench since the mid 80s, but starting from the early 70s through then, I designed and built several pieces of audio gear including preamps, parametric EQs, noise gates, power amps, and more than a few speakers, most of which was SS. Tubes are my thing now -- which is where I started, and that's mostly where you'll find me hanging out here -- tube amps, and high efficiency speakers.

Oh, and if I seem a bit confused about things that should otherwise seem obvious in a picture or schematic, it is because I am totally blind (having lost my sight at age 31), and may ask for descriptions when it is appropriate.

Thanks,

Jim

Cal,

Thanks for the welcome. I use a piece of software called a screen reader which allows me to navigate applications and read the screen contents using a speech synthesizer for output. It's much more complex than that, but that's the basic idea.