6V6 guitar amp design attempt

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I am having a crack at designing and building a VERY small guitar amplifier with a seperate PSU.

What do you think of my circuit? I know it will probably only put out a few watts at this HT, but my transformer dips horribly under load and i can only get around 150VDC at the current i will draw i estimate.
Any advice/ criticism is welcome ;)

Its my first attempt and is probably a bit odd and unconventional for a guitar amp but i just wanted to try it out.
i havent calculated the resistor values in the buffer stage yet, but i will do soon.

Here are some specs:
PSU = 0-220V@60mA, 6.3V@2A
8H choke, followed by 150uF.
0A2 and 0B2 stabiliser tubes if needed.

12AX7, 12AU7 and 6V6 tubes in amplifier.

edit: The schematic is wrong, the 0.022uF cap should go the the fist tubes anode.. not the grid.

Cheers
Craig

Attachments

• single ended 6v6.jpg
    single ended 6v6.jpg
    29.4 KB · Views: 512
Interesting design Craig!
When you say the cap is meant to go to the anode, don't you mean the cathode! It's an SRPP right?
(Or were you going for a cascode?)
You have no volume or tone controls?!
I would move the 1meg grid leak at the input to the other end of the 68k stopper, so you're not attenuating input signal.
Any particular reason for using a CCS cathode follower? In guitar amps, there's precious little advantage to using active loads on cathode followers. I would use that extra ECC82 triode as a gain stage or something.

Thanks Merlin.

Well i was going for cascode because i wanted lots of gain ( i want this amp to be dirty) but i guess i could change it to SRPP although id need to redo my resistor values.
Any sonic advantage to SRPP?