DIY tube electric guitar preamp for jazz/blues (not rock)?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I find it hard to believe that no-one has posted this question to this forum before, so here goes...

I'm a jazz and blues guitarist. I play 'clean' but actually I like the kinds of sounds you get from a Gibson-style humbucking pickup on a hollow-body/archtop electric guitar into a classic tube amp like Fender Vibrolux or Deluxe combo amps.

I have one of those amps, but I don't gig anymore, and it's just too heavy.

Now that there are all these great cheap power amps available, I thought it might be nice to wire up a guitar preamp that emulates the sound of a late 1960s Fender 'black-face' combo amp. Of course the sound of the amp is hugely influenced by the output stage including output transformer, choice of speaker, what cabinet the speaker is in, and so on.

I do find that you can make a low pass filter that simulates the high frequency roll-off of a classic guitar speaker like Jensen C12N or similar.

What I don't know is how to emulate the nice compression effect one gets from a Fender Deluxe Reverb played at a moderate volume level. Not 'distorted' in the rock sense, no fuzz to its tone, but 'enriched', 'warmed up'.

Do you think it would be possible to put a cathode follower at the output of a Fender 'clean channel' with 12AX7 and tone stack, and bias an output stage CF up so that it compresses easily? Or maybe use a pentode after the tone stack and set it up so that it has little headroom, so compresses the 'clean' signal?

Has anyone tried these things?

Just curious if someone has built something like this that has worked out for them.

Thanks.
--

To get the compression effect you need to drive a pentode, hard.
A mini-micro power stage, even if 0.1W output or less.