Converting old tube radio into guitar amplifier with few addons - help needed

First of all - a kind and big Hello! to everyone! :)
I hope I found myself in the right place to talk about such ideas and obviously to ask questions in the search of answers and solutions. I'm happy to have found this forum.

I'm in my 20's doing some electronics as a part of my lifetime hobby. Usually it's digital, less analog and hardly ever tubes, so I'm not that experienced with them and usually can't understand the bigger theory. I have made a few amps, but these were more of a "kit" than "design".

~~~

Recently I wanted to make myself a cheap guitar amplifier/combo of a kind for home practicing, so I found an old tube radio which isn't functional. This gives me most of the construction basis, together with a speaker, output stage, some preamplifier and a power supply, not mentioning the whole box. I have a bit of trouble understanding it though, so I'll attach the original schematic for it - see Sch_Original. I also added some markers which will come in handy next.

All the signal tubes (4 total) here have a rimlock base (B8A) (excluding the magic eye which is not relevant to my trouble) and I would really like to keep it that way. So, I found tube types that might be useful. I'll refer to each one later.

- EF40: a precedessor and equivalent of later EF86 - looking forward to an input stage with it;
ECC40 - instead of ECC83/12AX7 types and the one triode from EBC41;
EF42 - for reverb circuit instead of EF80, explained later;
EL41 - output stage of below 5W.

Regarding schematic, firstly I would like to try and leave the EM34 for later usage as a crude VU meter, maybe adjust its sensitivity. Then, my instinct says to cut the connections marked with orange X-s and connect input jack to one of the points indicated by the green or blue arrow. By doing this I would probably have a functioning amplifier with a drawback of its frequency response. This gives me the circuit on Sch_1.