Klemt Echolette NG51 Valve Pre Amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

I am very new to tube amps, but am fairly well versed in the world of electronics, so I was hoping for a bit of help! For a while now I have been thinking about building a stand alone pre amp based on the Klemt Echolette NG51. If you've ever used one, you'll know how lovely this old german machine sounds! I decided to design the power section from scratch and being fairly new to the the world of tubes, I was hoping I could get some help verifying the schematic before I begin ordering parts/building it. Another important feature I wanted to include was the "magic eye" valve VU indicator. Below you'll find the schematics. Am I on the right track here?

Any and all help/input is greatly appreciated!

My Schematic (note, "A" is where I think the VU meter should go?):
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

EM84 Valve VU Meter Circuit (not from schematic):
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

The Original Service Notes:

No links load.

226388d1300778284-klemt-echolette-s-ng51-schematics-needed-echolette_ng-51_sch.pdf_1.png

PDF is better.

http://www.peel.dk/Dynacord/pdf/Echolette NG 51.pdf

http://www.peel.dk/Dynacord/pdf/Echolette S NG 51 (Manual).pdf

I think there are some issues with your schematic/plan:

1) The tone pot is missing its wiper (connects to ground).

2) The volume pot is missing its value (500K).

3) The stage uses grid current biasing and is meant for high impedance microphones (input signal: 5 to 200 mV). Unless you would use it with a microphone that gives of (close to) 200 mV, the output level of just this stage would not be high enough for the magic eye.