Modifying a 12ax7 HiFi valve preamp to be a guitar preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I've got a HiFi stereo preamp with two 12ax7 valves. Attaching the schematics (the schematics uses 12au7 as the second valve, but I've put 12ax7 there as well, they seem to be compatible and 12ax7 gives more gain), it shows one channel.

I want to make a guitar preamplifier from it. I've been looking at some guitar preamp schemes on the internet and it seems like I mostly need to change some resistors (to the ones with the lower resistance), but as I'm not really experienced in the area, I am asking for advice.

The goal is to keep the preamp stereo and have two independent channels for two different instruments, and feed the result to a DAC (to digitally process it further).

Another thing I want is to supply each channel with two potentiometers: one for the gain (between the valves?), another one for the master volume (after the valves). To go from reasobably clean to reasonably crunchy being able to maintain the proper output level.

Could you recommend which resistors need to be changed? As for the gain and master volume I want to replace the two 470K resistors from the scheme, with 1M log pots — are these the correct targets for gain and volume?

Needless to say that as it is it works when I connect something like the headphones output, but when I try to connect the guitar, I cannot hear it.

I would appreciate any advice.

Attachments

• diykit.jpg
    diykit.jpg
    22.9 KB · Views: 491
R4 foils attempts to get good gain control between stages.

The low impedance of a ADC (not DAC) is a heavy load for a vacuum tube or a 1Meg(!) pot.