Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Amplifier HISSIN Noise ? What Causes this ??
Amplifier HISSIN Noise ? What Causes this ??
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th October 2019, 02:36 PM   #1
John Spofford is offline John Spofford
diyAudio Member

Default Amplifier HISSIN Noise ? What Causes this ??

Im New Here, Im a Novice DIY Electronic hobbyist ...I have a small shop with Meters, Scopes, Tools ......etc

I Have a Behringer Loudspeaker, a B615D 1500 Watt PA Speaker with Amp Built in. When you power up the Speaker ( with no input ) the Louder the Volume Knob goes, The Louder "white noise hissing " it does. The customer says never did this before.

I Checked for the Caps being buldged, or any cold solder joints. What Causes or most likely creates this Noise ?? is there testing I Can do ??
Old 10th October 2019, 03:42 PM   #2
Osvaldo de Banfield is online now Osvaldo de Banfield  Argentina
diyAudio Member

Location: Barrio Garay,Almirante Brown, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Hiss is noise, and can have more than one source. I can say, a high frequency oscillation, or a leak in a capacitor or a semiconductor, between others. You will need to measure some point with an oscillo for more confiable response.
Old 10th October 2019, 05:48 PM   #3
Enzo is offline Enzo  United States
diyAudio Member

Hiss is usually caused in a gain element, like a transistor or op amp.
Old 10th October 2019, 05:57 PM   #4
nigelwright7557 is offline nigelwright7557  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Resistors etc can cause noise.