Replace SS with vintage tube amps...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I was at a big Radio/audio show yesterday and was looking for some vintage git amp speakers...
Found a couple of SS guitar amps, in not working condition,,, A Montgomery Ward Bass amp with a nice 15" Rola,,, and a newer Marshall with a 10" MG series Marshall speaker...

Also found a couple of other loose speakers, and thought rebuilding the non working amps with tube amps could make winter projects... So,,, anyone have a idea/schem for a vintage Marshall or MG/Airline tube amp I could build for either box??

I have some experience with vintage Fender circuits,,, but Marshall is new to me, and has its own unique tone, that I would like to keep with this project,,, The Marshall amp PCB appears to have been damaged(but there is no physical damage on the outside of the cab) as 6 of the[ 9 pots are sheared off the PCB, which I read was a design problem with them,,, There doesn't seem to be a schematic available for it, so the tube amp chassis seems like a good "fix"...
Thanks

Attachments

• P4220019.JPG
    P4220019.JPG
    78.7 KB · Views: 241
  • P4220020.JPG
    P4220020.JPG
    79.1 KB · Views: 252
Schematic not hard to find. Here.

As ti building a tube amp in either solid state amp, you will have a metal chassis and the cab with speaker. None of the rest of the parts will be of use.

As to design flaws, some people gripe that pots ar mounted right on the board, instead of flying wires. But really, the ONLY way all the pots broke off is physical abuse.

Attachments

• Marshall MG30RCD.pdf
    94.9 KB · Views: 44