The dumbest thing I've ever seen in amp construction....

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The insulated laminates are to reduce power lose in the form of heat in the transformer core. The insulation prevents eddy current circulating between laminations. It doesn't matter if the outer edges of the lamination are shorted. This would not increase the power lose much because eddy current are local short path circular currents. Not conduction.

...could it be that setup works as a front ‘wing’ of sorts to keep the nose down at higher speeds?
I'm no aerodynamics engineer either, but aerodynamic lift / downforce is proportional to the square of the velocity, so in general there is very little lift or downforce from automotive aerodynamic aids until speeds get far above legal limits on public roads.

Sadly, you can still manage to get enormous aerodynamic drag, simply by having a frontal cross-sectional area the size of a barn door. Which is more or less what the Jaguar i-Barn does. :)

To put some numbers to it, I read somewhere that the Jaguar i-Blob is limited to a top speed of 124 mph. Using the aerodynamic lift equation (f=1/2 rho Cl S v^2), a very efficient spoiler with an area of half a square meter and a lift coefficient of unity (1.0) would generate about 95 kg of downforce, the weight of a fat man.

That sounds good until you compare it with the ludicrous 2760kg curb weight of the i-Lump. (Not far shy of 6000 lbs if you prefer imperial units. Or just about the weight of TWO Volkswagen Beetles if you prefer a historical comparison.)

This means, at 124 mph, the downforce from our hypothetical very efficient nose spoiler is a paltry 3.5% of the weight of the i-Lard. At legal speeds (i.e. about half of 124 mph), downforce drops four-fold, so less than 1% of the i-Fatty's gross weight.